iF Design Award 2021 – HEUSSER Series 9

The Heusser inset lock Series 9 is a fitting system for emergency doors, whose 3 shells and 2 handles can be combined to create solutions for a range of applications. The innovative product within the series is the inset lock S9.42.D3, which combines flush-mounting, compliance with the DIN EN 179 standard, and a low installation depth.
As part of a flush-mounted application, the two-level design reduces the required door thickness by up to 20 mm, which provides a sustainable contribution to the design of emergency doors. The high quality, compliant form targets an extension of the range of applications into demanding architectural contexts.

 

BUDDE BURKANDT DESIGN IF Award HEUSSER UX Design UI Design Innovation

Form

The combination of defined edges and soft transitions of the silhouette creates a tension between precision and softness. This aesthetic blends seamlessly within the architectural context, invites you to operate the handle, and creates trust. The two-level form of the S9.42.D3 allows the lock to be enclosed in the first level, with the handle penetration according to the EN 179 standard in the second level. The generous front area of the handle communicates strength and safety. Manufactured in stainless steel, the inset lock consists of a pressing part and a cast handle.

 

BUDDE BUBRKANDT DESIGN IF Award HEUSSER UX Design UI Design Innovation

Idea

The Heusser inset lock Series 9 is a fitting system designed for emergency doors. As part of an emergency escape route, emergency doors allow opening from inside at all times. Door fittings for emergency doors must fulfil the EN 179 standard. The handle is placed in a recess, to prevent snagging or injuries from projecting parts. The focus product of the series 9, the S9.42.D3, meets the EN 179 standard, is flush-mounted and allows a reduced door thickness. Designed for safe escape through an emergency door – with a single operation of the emergency escape mechanism.


 

Function

The Series 9 is an easy-to-use and flexible system, allowing its 3 shells and 2 handles to be combined into numerous solutions for different application scenarios. Due to the well-known functionality of the door handle, it is self-explanatory even in emergency situations, and safely operated. Also during planning and installation, the inset lock is characterized by a high degree of user-friendliness. The uniform hole pattern allows the inset locks to be screwed together from both sides of the door, which simplifies installation and enhances strength.

BUDDE BURKANDT DESIGN IF Award HEUSSER UX Design UI Design Innovation

 

BUDDE BURKANDT DESIGN IF Award HEUSSER UX Design UI Design Innovation

Differentiation

With traditional inset locks, the required thickness of the door results from adding the inset depth plus the depth of the door lock. The two-level design of the S9.42.D3 allows the door lock to be recessed within the inset lock and thereby reduces the required door thickness by around 25-35% as part of a flush-mounted application. The high quality and at the same time decent appearance of the Series 9 distinguishes itself from the competitors and extends the area of application of the Heusser brand to the demanding formal architectural area due to its aesthetic relevance.

 

BUDDE BURKANDT DESIGN IF Award HEUSSER UX Design UI Design Innovation

Impact

The efficient modular design principle of the Heusser Series 9 provides numerous solutions with just 5 parts. The novel, two-level concept of the inset lock S9.42.D3 reduces the installation depth by up to 20 mm, thereby enabling material-saving, sustainable door designs. The reduced overall weight reduces the energy requirements during the manufacture and transport of the doors. Due to its pure, timeless design, the product system provides a solution which will remain attractive in the long term. All parts are manufactured in stainless steel, can be mechanically separated, replaced and recycled.

iF Design Award 2021 – HEUSSER Serie 9

Die Heusser Einlassmuschel Serie 9 ist ein Beschlag-System für Fluchttüren, dessen 3 Schalen und 2 Drücker sich zu zahlreichen Lösungen für unterschiedliche Anwendungen kombinieren lassen. Das innovative Produkt der Serie ist die Einlassmuschel S9.42.D3, welche Flächenbündigkeit, die Erfüllung der Norm DIN EN 179 und eine geringe Einbautiefe vereint.
Im Rahmen einer flächenbündigen Anwendung reduziert der zweistufige Aufbau die benötigte Türstärke um bis zu 20 mm, was einen nachhaltigen Beitrag für die Planung von Fluchttüren darstellt. Die hochwertige, annehmbare Form erzielt die Erweiterung des Anwendungsbereiches um den formal anspruchsvollen architektonischen Kontext.

 

BUDDE BURKANDT DESIGN IF Award HEUSSER UX Design UI Design Innovation

Form

Die Kombination von definierten Kanten und weichen Übergängen der Silhouette schafft eine Spannung zwischen Präzision und Weichheit. Diese Ästhetik fügt sich harmonisch in den architektonischen Kontext ein, lädt ein den Drücker zu betätigen und schafft Vertrauen. Die zweistufige Ausformung der S9.42.D3 ermöglicht in der ersten Stufe das Einfassen des Schlosses und in der zweiten Stufe den in der Norm vorgesehenen Durchgriff. Die großzügige Front des Drückers kommuniziert Stabilität und Sicherheit. Aus Edelstahl gefertigt besteht die Einlassmuschel aus einem Drückteil und einem gegossenen Drücker.

 

BUDDE BUBRKANDT DESIGN IF Award HEUSSER UX Design UI Design Innovation

Idee

Die Heusser Einlassmuschel Serie 9 ist ein für Fluchttüren konzipiertes Beschlag-System.
Fluchttüren ermöglichen im Verlauf von Fluchtwegen zu jeder Zeit das Öffnen von innen.
Türbeschläge für Fluchttüren müssen die DIN Norm EN 179 erfüllen. Der Drücker ist in eine Vertiefung eingelassen um Hängenbleiben oder Verletzungen durch hervorstehende Elemente zu verhindern. Das Fokusprodukt der Serie 9 die S9.42.D3, erfüllt die DIN Norm, ist flächenbündig und ermöglicht eine reduzierte Türstärke. Ausgerichtet auf ein sicheres Entkommen durch eine Fluchttüre – mit nur einer einzigen Betätigung des Notausgangsverschlusses.

 

Funktion

Die Serie 9 ist ein einfach anwendbares und flexibles System, dessen 3 Schalen und 2 Drücker zu zahlreichen Lösungen für unterschiedliche Anwendungsszenarien kombiniert werden können. Durch die bekannte Funktionsweise des Türdrückers, wird dieser auch in Notsituationen selbsterklärend und sicher betätigt. Auch in der Planung und im Einbau zeichnet sich die Einlassmuschel durch eine hohe Anwenderfreundlichkeit aus. Das einheitliche Lochbild ermöglicht die gegenseitige Verschraubung der Muscheln auf beiden Türseiten, was den Einbau vereinfacht und zu einer besseren Stabilität führt.

BUDDE BURKANDT DESIGN IF Award HEUSSER UX Design UI Design Innovation

 

BUDDE BURKANDT DESIGN IF Award HEUSSER UX Design UI Design Innovation

Differenzierung

Bei herkömmlichen Einlassmuscheln ergibt sich die benötigte Türstärke aus der Addition der Muscheltiefen plus der Tiefe des Türschlosses. Das zweistufige Design der S9.42.D3 ermöglicht das Einfassen des Türschlosses in die Einlassmuschel und reduziert damit die benötigte Türstärke um ca. 25-35% im Rahmen einer flächenbündigen Anwendung. Die hochwertige und zugleich annehmbare Wirkung der Serie 9 hebt sich vom Wettbewerb ab und erweitert den Anwendungsbereich der Marke Heusser aufgrund der ästhetischen Relevanz um den formal anspruchsvollen architektonischen Kontext.

 

BUDDE BURKANDT DESIGN IF Award HEUSSER UX Design UI Design Innovation

Benefit

Das effiziente Baukastenprinzip der Heusser Serie 9 realisiert mit nur 5 Teilen zahlreiche Lösungen. Das neuartige, zweistufige Konzept der Einlassmuschel S9.42.D3 reduziert die Einbautiefe um bis zu 20 mm und ermöglicht damit eine materialschonende, nachhaltige Konzeption der Türen. Das reduzierte Gesamtgewicht verringert den Energieaufwand für die Herstellung und den Transport der Türen. Aufgrund der puren, zeitlosen Gestaltung bietet das Produktsystem eine langanhaltend attraktive Lösung. Alle Teile sind aus Edelstahl gefertigt und können mechanisch voneinander getrennt, ausgetauscht und recycelt werden.