User Interface Design for Memmert Water Bath

Memmert has been developing and producing thermal ovens as well as water- and oil baths for a wide range of applications, including the fields of biological, chemical and food research as well as wide-ranging quality tests. In over 190 countries all over the world, hundreds of thousands of Memmert products have been permanently in use for decades. This success is being continued with new developments such as the WTB water bath. The water bath is used for the temperature control of ointments and emulsions as well as warm storage and calibration in the industrial segment.
The new user interface design of the WTB water bath communicates the Memmert brand’s commitment to value and quality in its products. The new graphical user interface conveys all relevant information in a self-explanatory way and offers intuitive, pleasant operation. BUDDE BURKANDT DESIGN was entrusted with the design of the user interface. The design of the product and integration of the user interface into the product architecture were not part of the project.

 

Memmert UI

Intuitive Use

The user interface of the WTB water bath is designed to be self-explanatory. Easy-to-understand icons convey the functions to the user. Navigation through the menu structure is based on already familiar operating sequences. This allows settings to be made quickly, easily and safely. The customizable CustomView remote view presents the most important information to the user clearly and recognizably at a glance.

 

Value Of Simplicity

The value of simplicity is a key factor for the success of products and is a central focus for the conception as well as the design of hardware and software. For digital interfaces, simplicity means intuitive, pleasant operation, a clear dialog between people and the system, and a smooth exchange of information. The result is a great user experience that has a positive impact on brand value.

 

Design Concept

The concept and the design of the GUI put the user in the center and focus on the simple, intuitive and efficient execution of tasks. The goal is to guide the user to their target in a few logical steps. The accessible structure and attractive aesthetics of the interface invite users to operate the water bath. The functions are logically arranged according to their importance for use and marked by colors, different proportions and self-explanatory icons. The design concept builds on elements of existing Memmert interfaces as well as specific brand colors and combines them in a new, contemporary structure.


Memmert UI

Memmert UI
Efficient Implementation

A style guide was created with a focus on using the internal specialists for the implementation of the interface. It includes all screen layouts, icons, typographic as well as graphic elements and defines positions, sizes, proportions, distances and buttons. The style guide acts as a template for implementation as well as a guideline for easy and aligned development of further screens.

 

Memmert UI
Visualizing Functions

An icon is a reduced, ideally culturally and linguistically neutral representation of an object or state. Both the icon itself and the consistent position of its associated button are important for smooth interaction. A well-functioning user interface uses self-explanatory controls that have a clear message and are clearly structured. Well-designed icons allow functions and commands to be easily recognized and do not need to be learned.

 

Memmert UI
Digital Prototypes

In order to be able to make the right decisions safely and efficiently in the development process, the design and the operating concept are visualized and further developed in iterative steps. Sketches and graphics of icons, screen layouts and screen elements are used to show the design vision. The interaction steps and navigation structure are reviewed in digital prototypes on a realistic level.

 

Memmert UI
Brand-relevant Appearance

The digital interface of a product directly influences the brand image. While the brand value is enhanced by a successful and intuitive user experience, brand recognition is strengthened by the creation of a compelling, brand-relevant appearance. The implementation of the corporate design is an important part of the contextual design process, as it coordinates the use of colors, proportion, images, fonts and logos.

 

 

Design Innovation | Industrial design | Industrie design | Produktdesign Agentur München | industrial design Studio | Büro | UX Design | Interface Budde Burkandt Design Industriedesign | Produktdesign Agentur München | Studio | Büro | UX Design | Interface

Our Competences

We offer a wide range of services related to product development with competencies in the following areas:

  • Design Strategy
  • Innovation
  • Product Design
  • Design Identity
  • User Interface Design
  • Brand Design
  • Prototypes
  • Engineering

Services

User Interface Design für das Memmert Wasserbad

Die Firma Memmert ist einer der führenden Anbieter von Temperiergeräten, die in der biologischen, pharmazeutischen oder lebensmitteltechnischen Forschung sowie der industriellen Qualitätsprüfung angewendet werden. Hunderttausende von Memmert-Produkten sind in mehr als 190 Ländern seit Jahrzehnten im Einsatz. Dieser Erfolg wird mit neuen Entwicklungen wie dem Wasserbad WTB fortgeführt. Das Wasserbad WTB findet seinen Einsatz im Temperieren von beispielsweise Salben und Emulsionen sowie im Warmlagern und im Kalibrieren in der Industrie.
Das neue User Interface Design des Wasserbads WTB kommuniziert den Anspruch an die Wertigkeit und die Qualität der Marke Memmert an Ihre Produkte. Die neue grafische Benutzeroberfläche vermittelt selbsterklärend alle relevanten Informationen und bietet eine intuitive, angenehme Bedienung. BUDDE BURKANDT DESIGN wurde mit der Gestaltung des User Interface betraut. Die Gestaltung des Produktes und die Einbindung des User Interface in die Produktarchitektur waren kein Bestandteil des Projektes.

 

Memmert UI

Intuitive Bedienung

Die Benutzeroberfläche des Wasserbads WTB ist selbsterklärend gestaltet. Einfach verständliche Icons vermitteln dem Nutzer die Funktionen. Die Navigation durch die Menustruktur baut auf bereits bekannten Bedienabläufen auf. So können Einstellungen schnell, einfach und sicher durchgeführt werden. Die personalisierbare Fernansicht CustomView stellt für den Anwender die wichtigsten Informationen übersichtlich und auf einen Blick erkennbar dar.

 

Wert der Einfachheit

Der Wert der Einfachheit ist ein wesentlicher Faktor für den Erfolg von Produkten und damit ein zentraler Fokus für die Konzeption sowie die Gestaltung der Hard- und Software. Für digitale Schnittstellen bedeutet Einfachheit eine intuitive, angenehme Bedienung, einen eindeutigen Dialog zwischen Mensch und System sowie einen reibungslosen Austausch von Informationen. Es resultiert ein für den Anwender gutes Nutzungserlebnis, das sich positiv auf den Markenwert auswirkt.

 

Designkonzept

Das Konzept und die Gestaltung des GUI stellen den Anwender in den Mittelpunkt und fokussieren eine einfache, intuitive und effiziente Durchführung seiner Aufgaben. Ziel ist es den Nutzer in wenigen, logischen Schritten zu seinem Ziel zu führen. Die zugängliche Struktur und die annehmbare Ästhetik des Interfaces laden ein das Wasserbad zu bedienen. Die Funktionen sind entsprechend Ihrer Wichtigkeit für die Nutzung logisch angeordnet und durch Farben, unterschiedliche Proportionen und selbsterklärende Icons gekennzeichnet. Das Designkonzept baut auf Elementen bestehender Memmert Interfaces sowie spezifischer Markenfarben auf und kombiniert diese in einem neuen, zeitgemäßen Aufbau.


Memmert UI

Memmert UI
Effiziente Umsetzung

Mit dem Fokus die internen Spezialisten für die Umsetzung des Interfaces zu nutzen, wurde ein Style Guide angefertigt. Dieser beinhaltet alle Screen-Layouts, Icons, typografische sowie grafische Elemente und definiert Positionen, Größen, Proportionen, Abstände und Schaltflächen. Der Style Guide fungiert als Vorlage für die Umsetzung als auch als Richtlinie für die einfache und stringente Entwicklung weiterer Screens.

 

Memmert UI
Sichtbarkeit der Funktionalität

Eine reduzierte, im Idealfall kultur- und sprachneutrale Abbildung eines Objektes oder Zustandes wird unter einem Icon verstanden. Sowohl das Icon selbst als auch die gleichbleibende Position seiner zugehörigen Schaltfläche ist für die reibungslose Interaktion von Bedeutung. Ein gut funktionierendes User Interface verwendet selbsterklärende Bedienelemente, die eine eindeutige Aussage haben und klar strukturiert sind. Durch gut gestaltete Icons können Funktionen und Befehle einfach erkannt werden und müssen nicht erlernt werden.

 

Memmert UI
Digitale Prototypen

Um im Entwicklungsprozess sicher und effizient die richtigen Entscheidungen treffen zu können, werden das Design und das Bedienkonzept visualisiert und in iterativen Schritten weiterentwickelt und umgesetzt. Skizzen und Grafiken von Symbolen, Bildschirmlayouts und Bildschirmelementen werden verwendet, um die Designvision zu zeigen. Die Interaktionsschritte und die Navigationsstruktur werden in digitalen Prototypen visualisiert und lassen sich auf einem realistischen Niveau überprüfen.

 

Memmert UI
Ausdruck der Markenwerte 

Als Schnittstelle zum Nutzer beeinflusst die digitale Oberfläche eines Produktes auf direktem Weg das Markenbild. Zum einen stärkt eine intuitive Bedienung und damit ein gutes Nutzungserlebnis das Markenimage. Zum anderen sorgt die markengerechte Gestaltung für ein stringentes Bild. Für die Gestaltung ist die kontextgerechte Anwendung und Übertragung des Corporate Designs, welches den Umgang mit Farben, Flächen, Bildern, Schriften und Logos festlegt, entscheidend.

 

 

Design Innovation | Industrial design | Industrie design | Produktdesign Agentur München | industrial design Studio | Büro | UX Design | Interface Budde Burkandt Design Industriedesign | Produktdesign Agentur München | Studio | Büro | UX Design | Interface

Unsere Kompetenzen

Wir bieten ein umfangreiches Servicespektrum rund um die Produktentwicklung mit Kompetenzen in folgenden Bereichen:

  • Design Strategie
  • Innovation
  • Produkt Design
  • Design Identity
  • User Interface Design
  • Marken Design
  • Prototypen
  • Engineering

Service